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BLACK BASS ANGLING LAWS 
1 

Prepared in the Division of Game Manag~ment 

The Fish and ~lildlife Senice has found it i~p.r·a.cticable to continue 
issuing an annual publication summarizing the game ,'fis~ laws wi th special 
reference to black bass. The various authorities of tbe States and Cana­
dian Provinces do not announce their fishing regUigtio~s until shortly 
before the seasons open; and frequently also changes ,~re made in the laws 
too late for the ·Service to publish ' them, and some laws are superseded 
while a publication is being compiled. Thus 'it is impracticable for the 
Service to compile and publish the laws governing angling for all game 
fishes. 

All the States and the Provinces of Canada, however, issue pamnhlet 
editions of their fishing and hunting la~s and will sunply them ' to inter­
ested persons. A request should be addressed to ' the fish and game de­
partment of the State in which interested. The ap-pended tabulation sum­
marizes briefly the latest available data on black bass seasons, lim~t~, 
and the cost of resi(ient and nonresident angler's licenses. . 

TABLE l.--Seasons, llcense fees, and limits on black bass 
; 

, Licenses 27 
~ . . . 

Seasons 1/ liJ'on- Mini- . , - . , . 

State (Dates inclusive) Resi- resi- mum Daily limi t 

dent 'dent length 
Inches 

.Alabama ........... No closed season $1.00 $5.00 11 10 fish. 
Arizona ••.•••. ' .' • No closed season 
Arlcansas ••••.•••• May i6-Mar. 15 
California •..•••• iViay 29-0ct. 31 1/ 
Golorado •••••••. '. Apr. 10-oct. 31 r/ 
Qonnec ticu t •.•.•• July I-Oct. 31 
Delaware ••••••• 0 . 0 June 25-Feb. 1 

. For footnotes see page 3. 
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1.75 !./3.09 :!./l:0 10 fish or 1'5' pounds 
1.50 5.00 10 15 ffsh. - , 

2.00 3.00 9 10 ;fi sh. !./ 
2.00 3.09 (~./) 20 ffsh or 10 pounds 

and. 1· ·fi sh • 
3.35 5.35 10 10 fish. 
1.25 7.50 10 6 fish. 
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I,iic~enses 2/ ' I :, ",", 
~---r~';::-"'- I IIi . 

Seasons !/ 
(Dates inclusive) 

Non- ' ; ". nl-
Daily limit , 55ate 

Resi- resi- l~thlt 
dent dent 

District of Co-
lumbia: •.....•• May 3D-Mar. 31 

Florida ......... tJlay 2O-Mar. 14 

Georgia •..•••..• , June I-Apr. 14 !./ 
Hawai i .......... , June l-oct. 31 
Idaho •.......... July I-Apr. 30 !./ 

Illinois: 
Northern zone •• June 16-Mar. 31 
Central zone ••. June I-Mar. 31 
Southern zone. May 15-~Iar • 31 

Indiana •.•..•.... Ju.ne 16-Apr. 30 
Iowa ............. 1 ~une 15-Nov. 30 

I 
t 

(y) I (£I) 
$2.25 I $5.50 

1.25 'I' 5.25 
2.50 2.50 
2.00 I 5.00 

I 
I
" , .75 I, 3.00 

• 75 " 3.00 
I .75 : 3.00 I 
I 1 ~ 50 I 2 • 25 i 

1.00 t 3.00 
1.00 i 3.00 
1.00 I 2.50 

Kansas ......•... 1 May 26M Apr. 19 
Kentucky •...•.•• i June I-Apr. 30 
Louisiana • . . '.... No closed season 
- . JJune 21-Sept. 30 1/ ' 
Mal ne •.•....... '1 ~J 1 J 20 -1 /4 

1.00 ! 2.00 

1.151 5.15 

lVlaryland: 
L une - une _/'-) 

Tidal waters ••. ! Aug ~ l-lVlar. 31 
Nontidal waterj June 15-Nov. 30 

Massachusetts. • • July I-Jan. 31 
Michigan •.•...•. June 25-Dec. 31!./ 
Minnesota; I 

Northern zone •• June 21-Dec. 1 
Sou thern zone •• 1 May 29-Dec. 1 

Missi ssipDi •..... 1 toJlay I-Feb. 28 
lJIissouri ........ i June 15-Dec. 31 
lviontana •..••• . . 'llvlay 21-Mar. 14 

Ne braska ........• j Apr. I-Nov. 30 
Nevada •.......... / Ma.y I-Oct. 1!./ 
New Hampshire ••.• July I-Nov. 1 
New Jersey •...••• June 15-Nov. 30 

~~ew leXlcO ••...•. \J 1 N 30 (une -.c ov. 

I ' 
i 

U M . \(APril l-Apr. 15} 

New York •..•..•.. 1 July I-Nov. 30!./ i 
North Carolina I(May 10-Mar. 31 ~ I 

• "I~June 10-Mar. 31 6/r,. 
North Dakota ••.• ~I June 16-0ct. 31 , - ) 
Ohio •...........• 1 June 16-~pr. 30, I 
Oklahoma ........ ~ No closed season 
Oregon •........ '1 Apr. 15-0ct. 31!./ I 

I 
1.25 I 5.50 

1.25 1 5.50 
2.00 I 5.25 
1.00 , 2.00 

I 
! 

.50 j 3.00 

.50 I 3.00 
1.25 , 3.25 

I 
1.00 I 3.00 
2.00 I 5.00 

I 
I 

1.10 I 2.10 
1.50 3.00 
2.50 4.00 
2.10 5.50 

2.00 I 3.00 

1.65 5.50 

2.10 . 5.10 

• 50 3.00 
• 60 3.25 

1.25, 5.00 
3.00 5.00 

I 

- 2 -

Inches 

(~/) ! (y) 
12/12 largemouth and 12 

(3/) I sma11mo(~ 
1/10 10 fish. 17 
- 8 15 fish or 15 pounds 

I and 1 fish. !I 
I 

10110 fish. 
10/10 fish • 
10,:10 fish. 
10 6 fish. 

!,/10 15 fish. 
1/10115 fisb. 
- 11',10 fisb. 

10 20 fish. 

10110 pounds and 1 fisb. 

I 
l{) 120 fish. 
10

1
10 ~isb. 

lO i6 flSb. 
10 i 5 fish. 1/ 

(3/) 16 fish. -
(3/) i6 fish. 
- 10125 fish. 

10'8 fish. 
P./7, 15 fish or 15 pounds 

I 
and 1 fish. 

10 5 fish. 
(~/) ',10 P. oundS or 25 fisb. 

9 10 -pounds. 
9110 'fish. 

I ' - '" 
9

1

' 15 pounds and ~ fish. 

10 8 fish. " 

121s large mouth and 8 
smal1mouth. 

10 5 fish • 
10 6 fish • 

8 10 fish. 
(3/) 30 fish or 20 pounds 
- and 1 fish. 
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, Seasons 1/ 
.t 

lJ'on- Mini-~ 

state (Dates inclusive-) Resi- resi-
mum Daily limi t 

~ length , 
dent dent 

:( Inches 
P"'sylvania ••• _~ July I-Nov ' • . 30 !,./ $1.60 $2.60 9 6 fish. 
.de I s'l and •.•.• June 2O-Feb .. 20 1.25 2.50 10 6 fish. 
lDuth Carolina ••• No closed season II 1.10 5.25 (3/) (£/) 
South Dakota ••••• June 15-Yeb. , 28 D 1.00 3.00 (y) 8 fish. 
~essee ••..•••• May 30-Mar .. 14 !/ 2.00 5.00 11 8 fish. 
!'lIDs ... ~ ........ May I-Feb. 28 1.10 5.00 11 15 fish. 
U'ah .... ~, ......•• June 15-0c t • 31 2.00 3.00 ? 30 fish or 10 ~ounds 

,/ and 1 fish. 
Vermont ••.••••••• July 1-Nov. 30 1.25 5.15 10 5 fish. !./ 
Virginia: 

East of Blue 
Ridge •.••.•.•• June 15-Mar. 15 1/ 2.00 I 5.00 12 10 fi sh or 150 per 

season. 
West of Blue 

Ridge •••....•• July I-Dec. 31 2.00 5.00 12 10 fish or 150 J;er 
season. 

~shington •.••••• apr. 6-oct. 31 !./ 3.00 5.00 10 20 fish or 10 pounds 
and 1 fish. 

West Virginia •••• I June 28-Nov. 30 2.00 I 5.00 10 8 fish. 
Wisconsin .•• ~ •.•• June 20-Jan. 15 !.I 1.00 3.00 10 ? fish. 
Wyoming •• ' ••••.••• Apr. l-Oct. 31 !"I 1.50 I 3.00 I (£/) 20 fish or 15 pounds. 

I 

!I Certain exceptions--consult local fish and game authorities. 
~/ ConSUlt State fish and game authorities relative to alien, short term, 

and local licenses; also age-license requirements, etc. 
Y None. 
4/ Artificial-fly fishing only. 
y. Not more than 5 fish less than 7 inches in length. 
6/ Smallmouth only. 
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